Tourist Information Center Partnership Project

The F.M. Dostoevsky Memorial House- Museum in Staraya Russa

Staraya Russa served as the archetype for Skotoprigonyevsk, the setting for “The Brothers Karamazov”. Today, visitors can retrace the steps of the characters in the city
Staraya Russa, a quiet provincial town in the region of Novgorod, allures with its ancient history and rich cultural heritage. The trade route from the Varangians to the Greeks was lain here, and nowadays it serves as a through-fare between Moscow and St. Petersburg. Not too long ago, many old Orthodox temples destroyed during the Second World War were restored, which revived the traditional atmosphere. Local healing mineral springs have been known from the 19th century, and today it is a popular thermal spa resort.

The Dostoevsky family spent their summer holidays with their children in Staraya Russa in 1872 and continued to visit for 8 years. They were always reluctant to leave this place, and once – in 1874–75 – they even stayed here for the winter. Their stay here was fruitful for Dostoevsky: here he wrote some chapters from “Demons”, “The Raw Youth”, and a significant part of “The Brothers Karamazov”, the images and location of which are associated with Staraya Russia in many respects. The house that hosts the museum today miraculously survived the war and was the only property which actually belonged to Dostoevsky. The museum’s permanent exhibition recreates the historic surrounding and includes authentic belongings and lifetime editions.


Novgorod Oblast
42/2, nab. Dostoevskogo, Staraya Russa, Novgorod Region
Web site: