Literary Museum (Igor Severyanin)
Vologda region, Cherepovets district, Vladimirovka village, Severyanina str., 1
Phones: +7 (8202) 65-31-34
Web site: https://чермо.рф/museums/literaturnyy-muzey/
If you want to admire the picturesque landscapes of the village of Vladimirovka and get acquainted with the biography and work of the king of Russian poets Igor Severyanin (I. V. Lotarev), then you should definitely visit the Lotarev estate. Today, it is the only museum in Russia dedicated to the work of Igor Severyanin.
Unfortunately, the items and furniture were sold at auction, but inside some things remained intact. These are stoves decorated with white tiles, high wooden doors and walls. In one of the rooms there is a library, which contains both fiction of the 19th and 20th centuries, as well as textbooks. Some of them have the mark of a Real School, where, as you know, Igor Severyanin studied. But there was still one authentic and unique exhibit – a floor mirror, in front of which Igor Severyanin could spend hours cleaning himself up.
Anyway, the estate is filled with the spirit of creativity. Many poets and artists still come to these places to find inspiration for their works.
40 kilometers from Cherepovets in the village of Vladimirovka on the picturesque shore is a two-story purple house built by engineer Mikhail Lotarev at the beginning of the last century.
Then there are also beautifully varied colours of nature, slowly flowing river Court and Kemsa. It was in this wonderful corner that young Igor Lotarev – the future "King of Poets" Igor-a Northerner, who often came to stay with his uncle while studying at the Cherepovets Real School, drew his inspiration.
In 1899, on the banks of the Suda River and the Kemza River that flows into it, Mikhail Petrovich Lotarev began the construction of the legendary estate. The place where the estate is built embodies the beauty of all of Russia: high banks, along which the river flows slowly but rapidly, a coniferous forest that holds many secrets and riddles. Mikhail Petrovich's family was large (there were 6 children in the family), and he was a hospitable and hospitable person. Therefore, the house was large, two-story, built of logs and decorated with carved architraves. Next to the house there is a wonderful garden.
In 1918, the estate was nationalized, then Igor Severyanin left for Estonia. In 1925, a sanatorium was located here, first for children, and later for adults. On December 20, 1993, the first exhibition dedicated to Igor Severyanin was opened. In 1996, the estate was transferred to the Cherepovets Museum Association for the organization of a literary museum in it.
In his youth, the poet was in love with his cousin Elizabeth (the daughter of his uncle). At the time, he was 12 and his sister was 17. And when he came to the manor to visit his uncle, he tried in every possible way to attract Elizabeth's attention. He bought a fixatoire, a mustache-tinting ink, and stood for a long time at the floor mirror, carefully sketching the newly sprouting moustache. That is why when museum visitors look at this exhibit, it evokes positive emotions in them.